• Course is open. Full Greens.

Three Scottish Champions

There used to be a tiny village of less than 200 people to the north side of the 15th green.  It is no longer there today, but the 15th hole is now named after it, to preserve the name “Bartonholm” in the past, present and future of the club. There are not many golf clubs that can boast to have members that have won their country’s Amateur Championship but the Irvine Golf Club is proud that not one, but three former Scottish Amateur Champions.  Hamiton (“Hammy”) McInally, James (“Jimmy”) Walker and John (“Jack”) Cannon, all hailed from the tiny mining village of Bartonholm, and honed their skills over the course before going on win major golfing accolades and championships.

Hammy represented Scotland in the 1930’s and 1940’s, Jimmy in the 1950’s and 1960’s and Jack was selected to play for his country in 1969 and 1974. Jack’s Scottish Amateur Championship win in 1969 gave him the record, which still stands today, for being the oldest ever winner at the age of 52. Jack Cannon also won the Scottish Seniors (joint winner) in 1978 & 1982.

Hamilton McInally

Scottish Amateur Championship:
Winner 1937, 1939 and 1947

Runner-up 1949

Scottish Internationalist:
1937, 1947 and 1948



James Walker

Scottish Amateur Championship:
Winner 1961

Walker Cup Team: 1961, Seattle Golf Club

Scottish Internationalist:
Every year 1954-1963 (inclusive, except 1959*) *1959 (injured in a car crash)


Jack Cannon

Scottish Amateur Championship:
Winner 1969

Scottish Internationalist:
1969 and 1974

British Open Seniors Champion: 


Alan Tait

Alan Tait, PGA Professional  and former European Tour Pro, is proud to be a lifetime honorary member of The Irvine Golf Club. He is pictured below playing with Ben Crenshaw and a young Tiger Woods, at Carnoustie, where he was the first ever player to shoot a round of 64 and held the course record for 24 years. Alan won the Doug Sanders European & World Boys Championship in 1986 as well as the Scottish Boys. 

Scottish PGA Matchplay Championship:  Winner 1996

Tartan Tour Order of Merit:  Winner 1996.



facebook twitter